Article 201 - The Police Council

Print & Download»

There shall be established a Police Council which shall consist of—

(a) a chairman who shall be appointed by the President acting in consultation with the Council of State;

(b) the Minister responsible for internal affairs;

(c) the Inspector-General of Police;

(d) the Attorney-General or his representative;

(e) a lawyer nominated by the Ghana Bar Association;

(f) a representative of the Retired Senior Police Officers Association;

(g) two members of the Police Service, appointed by the President, acting in consultation with the Council of State, one of whom shall be of a junior rank; and

          (h) two other members appointed by the President.